Pervasive Developmental Disorders (PDD) - ACPN

Pervasive Developmental Disorders (PDD)

Pervasive developmental disorders (PDD), as opposed to specific developmental disorders (SDD), refers to a group of five disorders characterized by delays in the development of multiple basic functions including socialization and communication.

There are five types of pervasive development disorders:

  • Autism
  • Asperger’s syndrome
  • Childhood disintegrative disorder
  • Rett’s syndrome
  • Pervasive development disorder not otherwise specified (PDDNOS)